Not only is it illegal to drink and drive in Wisconsin, drunk driving penalties are more severe than they were in the past.
For example, if you've been charged with a fourth drunk driving charge or greater in Wisconsin, you're now facing a felony offense.
The penalties and combination of charges you might receive for a drunk driving conviction in Wisconsin depend upon many factors unique to your case.
To give a general idea of penalties by OWI offense, the following list is provided for your reference. Be advised, this list does not include additional penalties, such as an OWI surcharges, revocation of license, installment of an interlock ignition device, and more.
1st Offense OWI
Fine or forfeiture ranging from $150-$300
2nd Offense OWI
Fine or forfeiture ranging from $150 to $1,100 and up to 6 months confinement
3rd Offense OWI
Fine or forfeiture ranging from $600-$2,000 and 45 days to 1 year confinement
4th Offense OWI (within 15 years of the previous conviction or after the second OWI in combination with two other serious OWI-related offenses such as injury by intoxicated use of a vehicle or second-degree reckless homicide involving a vehicle)
Fine or forfeiture of up to $2,500, 1 year confinement, and permanent driver's license revocation. Offenders who drive after revocation face a $2,500 fine and up to a year in jail for the first offense. Second offenses could lead to a $10,000 fine and/or a year in jail.
During many drunk driving arrests in Wisconsin, there are typically two charges: operating while under the influence of an intoxicant (OWI), and operating with a prohibited blood alcohol concentration (PAC).
To learn more about charges and penalties you might be up against in your specific case, contact a proven Wisconsin OWI attorney.
Whether you're facing a first drunk driving offense or repeat drunk driving charges in Wisconsin, Stangl Law is happy to offer you a FREE 15-minute consultation to discuss your case.