IMG_1325

THE STANGL LAW BLOG

The Complete Guide to Wisconsin Statutes of Limitation

August 6, 2020

A statute of limitation sets a specific period of time the state can prosecute a particular crime. After that time passes, they lose the right to bring a case forever.

Generally speaking, the more serious or violent the crime, the longer the statute of limitation is and some offenses have no limitation at all. In certain situations, the state can be granted additional time to bring a case by having the statute of limitation tolled or suspended. (Wis. Stat. § 939.74

Have questions regarding the statute of limitations for your offense? Click here to contact me for a free consultation.

Read More

Wisconsin Felony Classes: A Quick Guide

July 27, 2020


According to Wisconsin law, a felony is a crime whose punishment could potentially result in a jail term of one year or longer. Crimes that fall within this category are assigned sentences within the Wisconsin State Prison System rather than in a county jail.

Read More

Can You Hire an Attorney From Another State?

July 14, 2020

If you or someone you love is facing a criminal offense, you likely have many questions--including which lawyer to hire. In times like this, it's only natural to seek the advice of friends and family.

As you may not reside in the same state as your loved one or support system, the name of an out-of-state lawyer may come up, begging the question, "Can I hire a lawyer from another state to represent me in court?"

This article will explain the circumstances when someone charged with a crime in one state would and would not be able to hire a criminal defense lawyer from another state, such as Wisconsin, to represent their legal case in another state.

Read More

What To Do If You're Arrested for Battery in Wisconsin

July 3, 2020

Battery is a common misdemeanor offense in Wisconsin criminal courts.

Simple battery in Wisconsin, which is a battery that does not cause substantial bodily harm or worse, is Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to a $10,000 fine and 9 months in jail. 

Most people think of battery as a punch, but it is not limited to a punch. So, what qualifies as battery in Wisconsin? Any act done with intent to cause bodily harm may qualify as a battery.

For example, choking, kicking, scratching, or twisting may all qualify as a battery if it:

  1. Is done with the intent to cause bodily harm,
  2. It causes bodily harm, and
  3. Is done without consent of the person harmed.
Read More

What You Need To Know About Underage OWI in Wisconsin

June 22, 2020

I’ve talked at length about the consequences of OWI charges and convictions for adults in Wisconsin, but for those with underage teens who may be old enough to drive but too young to consume alcohol, it’s important to understand the differences between each group as the laws and penalties are not the same.

This article will provide important information relating to OWI for drivers not yet of the legal drinking age in Wisconsin. This offense is different than OWI with a minor passenger. For more information on that see my other article here.

Even if you feel confident your teen or teens would not drink and drive, it's still a good idea to discuss this issue under Wisconsin law so they know their rights in case they or their friends ever find themselves being pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving in Madison or elsewhere across the state.

Read More

Defending Against a Disorderly Conduct with a Firearm Charge in Wisconsin

June 19, 2020

If life's circumstances have left you facing a criminal charge of disorderly conduct with a firearm, you may be uncertain of your future and ready to take back control.

The first step in regaining your footing is having a better understanding of the charges against you, which is why we've prepared this primer on the fundamentals of defending yourself against the allegations.

There is no specific law that refers to disorderly conduct with a firearm, but two separate codes come into play: disorderly conduct and additional penalties for the use of a dangerous weapon.

Read More

Second Offense OWI in Wisconsin: Penalties & Next Steps

June 12, 2020


The penalties for second offense OWI can be significantly more severe than a first offense OWI.
Unlike a first offense OWI in Wisconsin, which is classified as a civil offense, a second offense OWI is a criminal offense without exception.

These include, but are not limited to possible jail time (up to 6 months), significant monetary fines of $350 to $1,100 plus surcharges, and mandatory driver’s license revocation for at least 12 months. Many factors can affect sentencing based on the circumstances of your situation.

Read More

How To Hire A Wisconsin OWI Lawyer: 9 Questions to Ask

May 26, 2020

Posting bail after a drunk driving arrest can feel like a huge relief, but understand it's only the beginning in your battle against operating under the influence of an intoxicant or OWI charges in Madison or elsewhere across Wisconsin.

Since our state adopted stricter laws against some OWI offenses in 2016, it's more important than ever to consult a skilled Wisconsin drunk driving defense attorney if you've been charged with OWI, DUI, DWI, BAC, PAC or any other drug- or alcohol-related offense or offenses.

If you're like many people who get pulled over for drunk driving in Wisconsin, it's likely you've never had to hire a criminal defense attorney before, and may not know where to start. This article presents a list of nine important questions to ask to help ensure you find the right attorney for your needs.

Read More

Boating Under The Influence In Wisconsin: What You Need To Know

May 22, 2020

Summer has arrived here in Wisconsin, and with it, the freedom to get out and enjoy our natural areas. For those who soak in the summer months on our many lakes and rivers, boating can be a great way to escape the heat and have a great time with friends and family.

But for those who want to relax on the water with a drink in hand, it’s important to realize that just like any other motor vehicle, there are serious consequences for those who go overboard with their alcohol consumption while operating a boat on our waterways.

Especially for those newer to boating, it may seem like the water is simply out of reach for law enforcement. In reality, this couldn’t be further from the truth.

The state is very aware of the dangers intoxicated boaters pose and regularly deploy conservation wardens and boat patrols to look for drunk boaters throughout the season.

Read More

Sex Offender Registration in Wisconsin: Know The Basics

May 8, 2020

Unlike other kinds of crimes, sexual assault, rape, and other sex offenses in Wisconsin often require individuals to register with a public catalog of current sex offenders. This is called the Wisconsin Sex Offender Registry.

The information in the registry is made available to law enforcement agencies, victims, neighborhood watch groups and the general public via the official State of Wisconsin Offender Web Site. 

The requirements of registering can be complicated and depend on several factors, as some convictions carry mandatory registration requirements while others may not.

Even those not convicted of crimes categorized specifically as “sex crimes” can be required by a court to register if the nature of their crimes are found to be sexually motivated in one way or another.

Read More

RECENT POSTS

FEATURED VIDEOS

Am I Being Investigated for a White Collar Crime?
video-icon.jpg
 
When to Consider Filing an Appeal in Wisconsin
video-icon2.jpg
 

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

IF YOU NEED LEGAL DEFENSE AGAINST CRIMINAL CHARGES IN WISCONSIN,  DISCUSS YOUR OPTIONS WITH STANGL LAW.
Get a Free Consultation